• Home
  • OBGYN
  • Meet Morgantown Native and Mon Health OBGYN Erica Arthurs

Meet Morgantown Native and Mon Health OBGYN Erica Arthurs

Post Top Image

Growing up, Dr. Erica Arthurs witnessed firsthand how special doctor-patient relationships were each time she went out in public with her dad, Mon Health Wedgewood Primary Care’s Dr. Brian Arthurs.

So when it came time to choose a career path, the decision was simple.

“I would always see patients and families of patients coming up to talk to my father at restaurants, the grocery store or the park,” says Dr. Arthurs. “I knew I wanted to have that same connection with the people in my community.”

A Morgantown native, Dr. Arthurs attended West Virginia University for both her undergraduate degree and medical school. She quickly realized she wanted to use her passion to provide care to women through every stage of life as an obstetrician and gynecologist.

“As an OBGYN, you really get to know women and their families throughout their pregnancy,” said Dr. Arthurs. “You experience an amazing and exciting time in their life when they give birth, and then you see them on a regular basis for annual exams and follow them through life’s journey.”

After residency, Dr. Arthurs didn’t have to look far from home to find the community connection she craved growing up.

“I wanted to continue taking care of women in West Virginia,” said Dr. Arthurs. “Mon Health has an amazing Birth Center, physicians and staff members who work here, so this felt like the perfect place to be.”

Who makes up your family, including pets and their names?

Dr. Arthurs and her husband, Randy, and daughter Alexia.

My husband Randy, my daughter Alexia and my dog, Aussie. Both of our immediate families are quite large —I have 4 siblings and Randy has 7 siblings with many nieces and nephews!

What was your first paying job?

My first paying job was in medical records filing charts in high school. I would also babysit for family friends from time to time.

If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be and why?

Hawaii—it is so beautiful and peaceful, but you can find adventure and fun things to do as well!

What did you eat for breakfast? If nothing, what’s your favorite breakfast?

Breakfast is my least favorite meal of the day, but if I had to choose my favorite it would be pumpkin bread and Gatorade.

What is the first thing you do when you wake up?

Hit the snooze button, then wake up every 2 minutes to check and make sure there is a backup alarm set so that I don’t oversleep.

What is the last thing you do before you go to sleep?

Set 10 different alarms on my phone so that I don’t oversleep in the morning.

What was your favorite childhood toy?

I was obsessed with reading when I was growing up, so I would have to say my book collection would be my favorite “toy.”

What’s your favorite movie/ book /TV show/sports team?

My favorite TV show is Friends – I have watched all the seasons multiple times!